Troubleyn | Jan Fabre

Fragile State

17.06.2017 – 07.01.2018


© Angelos bvba / Photo: Sergey Illin

The PinchukArtCentre is proud to present “Fragile State” - a major international group exhibition with 10 leading artists including Marina Abramovic, Jan Fabre, Urs Fischer, Douglas Gordon, Damien Hirst, Carlos Motta, Oscar Murillo, Santiago Sierra, Barthelemy Toguo and Ai Weiwei.

A Fragile State often reveals a delicate moment of vulnerability and might be an accurate description of the world around us. The notion of Fragile State reflects upon the fragile state of the world order, or in a more abstract sense it refers to ideological, cultural and social vulnerabilities. But it is equally a notion that can be understood in a deeply personal sense, the fragility of body and mind.

This exhibition meanders systematically in between those different definitions of the Fragile State. It provokes conversations linking the fragility of our body and mind, and the fragility of ideologies and historical understandings. It draws parallels between the fragility of youth and that of a country at war conflict or the fragility of life and that of a State at risk.

 

OPENING HOURS

Tuesday - Sunday: 12 a.m. - 9 p.m.

 

INFORMATION

+38 044 590-0858

info@pinchukartcentre.org

 

PinchukArtCentre

1/3-2, "А" Block,

Velyka Vasylkivska/Baseyna Str.,

Kyiv, Ukraine 01004

 

website

close

Troubleyn | Jan Fabre

FRAGILE STATE

17.06.2017 – 07.01.2018


© Angelos bvba / Photo: Sergey Illin

Le PinchukArtCentre est fier de présenter "Fragile State" (État Fragile) – une exposition collective internationale majeure réunissant 10 artistes de premier plan, dont Marina Abramovic, Jan Fabre, Urs Fischer, Douglas Gordon, Damien Hirst, Carlos Motta, Oscar Murillo, Santiago Sierra, Barthelemy Toguo et Ai Weiwei.

Un État Fragile révèle souvent un moment délicat de vulnérabilité et peut être une description précise du monde qui nous entoure. La notion d'État Fragile reflète l'état fragile de l'ordre mondial ou, dans un sens plus abstrait, se réfère à des vulnérabilités idéologiques, culturelles et sociales. Mais c'est aussi une notion qui peut être comprise dans un sens profondément personnel, la fragilité du corps et de l'esprit.

Cette exposition serpente systématiquement entre ces différentes définitions de l'État Fragile. Elle suscite des conversations mettant en lien la fragilité de notre corps et de notre esprit, et la fragilité des idéologies et des compréhensions historiques. Elle établit des parallèles entre la fragilité de la jeunesse et celle du conflit d’un pays en guerre, ou la fragilité de la vie et celle d'un État à risque.

 

HORAIRES D'OUVERTURE

Mardi - Dimanche: 12h - 21h

 

RENSEIGNEMENTS

+38 044 590-0858

info@pinchukartcentre.org

 

PinchukArtCentre

1/3-2, "А" Block,

Velyka Vasylkivska/Baseyna Str.,

Kyiv, Ukraine 01004

 

website

close